Indy 500

Izzy and I both went to our first Indianapolis 500 mile race on Memorial Day weekend.  What a great time!  Izzy had just as much for as I did, and that’s saying a lot for a 9 year old who had a full day of racing!  The cars were fast and the crowd was fun.  We’re already excited for next year, but we’ll be doing one thing different – leaving the track much later.  It took us 2.5hrs to get home.  Next year we will just hang out for a couple of hours then pack up and leave.

Izzy was rooting for the hometown hero and pole sitter, Ed Carpenter, to win.  I was rooting for him as well, but also Tony Kanaan and rookie Conor Daly (from Noblesville, IN).  TK took home the win, Carpenter 10th, Daly 22nd.  It was an amazing race!  Fastest Indy 500 at over 187mph average speed and the most lead changes with 68!!

The race didn’t convert me to be a full blown IndyCar fan.  The cars sound like garbage and aren’t easy on the eyes, but this year’s Indy500 was an amazing race to be apart of and I’m really happy I was there and got to share it with Izzy.  We’ll be life long Indy500 race fans and who knows, maybe in the future I’ll follow the series.

Below are some images I captured throughout the day.  The gallery images (after the first 2 of Izzy and I) should have captions.  Enjoy2013-05-26 08.44.38-12013-05-26 10.03.15

Leave a Reply

